| News | Forskningsnyt

Roskilde University awards three honorary doctorates

At Roskilde University's annual celebration, professors Ann Langley, Karen Lee Ashcraft and Valery Forbes were awarded honorary doctorates.
The three honorary doctors
The image shows from left to right: Karen Lee Ashcraft, Valery Forbes and Ann Langley.

On Friday 16, September 2022, Roskilde University awarded honorary doctorates to three foreign researchers.

The three honorary doctors are:

Ann Langley, professor at HEC Montréal and Warwick Business School. For decades, she has played a leading role in research into organizations – including organizational sociology, strategy and management processes. She has been a decisive driving force in relation to the development of the field and has been a great inspiration to her colleagues at Roskilde University.

Ann Langley has been nominated by the Department of Social Sciences and Business.

Karen Lee Ashcraft is a professor of communication at the University of Colorado, Boulder. In her research, she focuses on e.g., how gender, race and sexuality help to shape professional identities and organizational contexts. Professor Ashcraft is a key contributor to the development of interdisciplinary research in professional and organizational communication.

Karen Lee Ashcraft has been nominated by the Department of Communication and Arts.

Valery Forbes is dean of the Charles E. Schmidt College of Science at Florida Atlantic University. Her research focuses on population ecology and modelling, ecotoxicology and ecological risk assessment, dealing with environmental pollutants and their effects in complex environments. A field that Valery Forbes helped to found during her time at Roskilde University, and where her ability to see the necessity and value of an interdisciplinary focus is still setting the tone.

Valery Forbes was nominated by the Department of Science and Environment.